Hello, friends!

It’s Monday morning;no, it’s EARLY Monday morning, and I can only attribute my happiness at this moment to three things:  I have finally finished my daunting paper on the rogerian argument of female soldiers(bleh), it is a very close one’s day of birth, and it is #makeupfreemonday.  This is in no way, shape or form an event I would have celebrated five years ago.  Are you kidding me?  Brace-faced, awkward teenage girl?  Going all natural?! HA. Now don’t take this as me saying all girls relied on make up in junior high.  Some of you (the lucky ones) got through those years generally scratch free.  I envy you.  As for the rest of us, we may have just recently found that level of comfort, or we may not even be there yet.  I am an advocate for this day of self-love, not just for the symbolic purposes, but because that personally cuts out at least ten minutes from my morning routine.  Before I get too carried away I need to clarify-I do not think that makeupfreeMonday is always used in the right way.  Oftentimes girls like to head to instagram for a quick selfie, in which they casually throw in the hashtag, #makeupfreemonday.  This is great.  Go you, I stand behind you the whole way.  But doing this every week may turn out to be a promoter for self-hate in others, not self-love for you.  This is not just a girl thing, so boys don’t think you’re in the clear.  We all have that friend who cannot go to the gym without taking a picture.  Captions like, “Gainz,” and “gym all day, every day” clog up my feed on the daily (doucheheads).  So how do we love ourselves without making others feel poorly for not doing the exact same thing we’re doing? …. I don’t have the answer.  To be honest, I’m still trying to figure it out myself.  But for now, look in the mirror, and focus on being happy with yourself.  As long as that’s achieved, the rest is insignificant.  HAPPY MONDAY, xoxo

Leave a Reply

